LHS Magnet Tigers Newsletter

Interview With Nagaoka | October 28, 2009

Interview With Nagaoka

By Kevin Ov

Have you seen an Asian man with a ponytail walking down the Magnet hallway with a coffee mug in his hand, and wondered who he was? Here is a chance to know a little about him. His name is Miles Nagaoka, a Magnet teacher, or as Kennedy Nguyen refers to as the “Professional Dude”. He has two kids, one son and one daughter. His ancestors come from Japan, but the only thing that connects himself to his Japanese self is his DNA.

He has been teaching at Lincoln since 1984 and only became a teacher because he was tired of the low paying jobs during the last recession in the early 1980’s. Since he has been at Lincoln for so long I decided to ask him if there would be anything you would change in LHS what would it be and why, he replied, “It would be the color, I’d prefer blue or green over the color yellow”.

Q & A’s

Q: What is it like being a Magnet teacher?

A: It’s very “Attracting.”

Q: What do you like about the Magnet and why?

A: It has a North Pole and a South Pole; also it’s great to stick my kid’s drawings to the fridge, way better than chewing gum.

Q: Seriously, I meant the Magnet SLC…

A: Ooo, then it would be because all the students I teach in the magnet are GENIUSES!

Q: Are there any Magnet events you personally enjoy?

A: I especially enjoy Laser tag because I AM THE BEST!

These things are great to know but now let’s get personal!

 

Q: Are the any hobbies you enjoy doing?

A: Sleeping whenever I have the chance, and whenever I’m awake, I like to golf.

Q: What did you do on your last summer vacation?

A: Sleep and play golf now wasn’t that a dumb question.

Q: What is your favorite food, and why?

A: COFFEE!!!!!! It helps me stay awake so I can play golf. Also it keeps me from going into coma while reading my student’s boring essays.

Q: Do you have any traditions you like to follow?

A: I like to start work in September, have a three week break in the winter, then a one week break in the spring then stop work in June, then repeat again.

Q: What is your favorite book of all time?

A: Trout Fishing in America, because it comes closest to my view of reality.

If this wasn’t enough information about Mr. Nagaoka, his classroom is located near the Magnet office in room 140; if you catch him when he free he will most like answer your questions.


Posted in Staff

About author

This site is a product of the LHS Magnet Leardership class with Ms. Lauer's support.

Search

Navigation

Categories:

Links:

Archives:

Feeds